AKB48: How I became a fan

Ohayou minna-san!
Mac desu! The co-author of this blog along with my friend Gisei.
Yoroshiku Onegaishimasu!

So as a my first post, I want to tell you guys how I became a fan of AKB48.

akb48concert

Even for me, this is a hard question to answer. Obviously this is not the first time I asked myself this question. But the first time that it DID pop in my head, rather than being able to think of an answer, I was SHOCKED! It was the first time it HIT me! It was the moment I realized that I became a fan.

I thought about it seriously. How could I, someone who didn’t have take much interest in the girls around me because the mere sight of them trying to act cute and likable made them  seem so fake and annoying.
And I remember thinking the same about AKB48 back then, about their dances and their songs.
Their songs weren’t exactly the type I would listen to while walking around in public or riding public transport.

I have always been critical to the point that sometimes I end up talking as if I were a level above other people.

I thought “What’s with these girls? There’s a lot of them. Isn’t this just impractical, their dance and formation is just messy! The camera jumps from one person to another almost every second, it’s annoying and it’s making me sick. Are they even actually singing? Isn’t this lip-syncing? Are they actually trying to sell themselves as idols with that kind of performance?”. Yes, I had those kinds of thoughts.

I’m sure you’ve guys have heard of AKB48 before, and maybe you’ve had similar thoughts. Even thinking more deeply about it now, if you have a time machine and went to meet me from even just like 2 years ago, and you told me I would be an AKB48 fan.

So from that kind of standpoint, how was I able to step into being an AKB48 fan?

The first step was because of the Manga based on AKB48 called “AKB49: Ren’ai Kinshi Jorei” (AKB49〜恋愛禁止条例 ). Check it on wiki HERE.

akb49-renai-kinshi-jourei-2941523

 

This Manga is amazing. I recommend it to everyone and not just because it’s AKB related. Even before that, this has been one of my favorites, honestly.

I read it online and included in some of the chapters were pictures of members, during that time I actually thought they were ugly. lol Oh how I want to smack my old self for thinking that.

This manga really fueled my interest in AKB48. It made me question whether some of the events in the manga actually happened to the members.

From my research, I learned a lot about AKB48 that changed everything that I had originally thought about them.
I was able to see some of the struggles that the members go through.
The fear, drama and the pressure that they go through, losing confidence and giving up on their dreams.
The frustrations of wanting to perform well for their fans but not being a good enough dancer or singer.
And in the end the idol who was supposed to cheer up the fans was being saved by those fans’ kind words and support. Being the source of each other’s hope.
I was jealous of that kind relationship and before I knew it I became one of those fans.

I couldn’t have been more wrong about them. Being an idol wasn’t a bed of roses as I originally thought.
They are girls working hard for their dreams and even if they weren’t the best dancers or singers, it doesn’t matter I want to support them. And as my favorite line from the manga says:

“There will be times when they are troubled or lose confidence,
and to overcome that,
they don’t need to have elegant voices or beautiful dancing.
The determination that an idol has,
is the best talent she has.”

(-Togasaki AKB49 Renai Kinshi Jorei)

 If you give them some of your time and get to know them, watch their documentaries you’ll be able to see it as well.

Comments
4 Responses to “AKB48: How I became a fan”
  1. Denny Sinnoh says:

    I am also a big fan of the group. I often blog about them. Your readers may be interested in one of my older posts. I wrote it when I was very drunk.

    http://dennysinnoh.wordpress.com/2014/05/03/obama-rejects-keystone-pipeline-yasushi-akimoto-exploits-girls/

    My mouse and I welcome you to read some of my other AKB posts : )
    Denny

    Like

Leave a Reply

